When The Red Roses Go Out Of Season…

The phone rings as I am about to leave for the day. My rather weary “Hello” is greeted with exuberance as a friend cheerily booms down into the phone. “Guess what”, he gushes, “I met this guy yesterday who is a palm reader and he reckons love is on the cards for me, in other words I am about to meet my dream girl very,very soon”. “That’s wonderful”, I murmur and hope he will leave it at that but he persists “What do you think?”.

I hear his excited voice, the unbounding optimism that the love forecast seems to have generated in him and suddenly,I want to tell him very honestly what I think…

I want to tell him that love will walk its way into his life just like that, one fine day, hardly stopping to ask him if he is ready, that no palm reader and no astrological forecast will ever prepare him for the life changing emotions that will follow.

I hope he knows that he can’t choose whom he will fall in love with, all I hope is that he loves with all his heart and follows his heart without constantly second guessing himself. Love is as much about the little things as much as it is about the big decisions and this I want him to understand. Long after the Hallmark cards and red candy boxes have been exchanged and relegated to moth ball lined drawers, what will remain etched in memory forever is a look, a kind word, a pat on the back and a squeeze of the hand.

I want to tell him that rather than finding a person who says “I love you”, I hope he finds a person who says “I’ll always be there for you” because at the end of the day it is more about support than about declarations, it is more about having a familiar number to call and pour your heart out than about having to put your best voice on.It is more about caring for the other person than guarding your own vulnerabilities.

I hope he finds a love that does not fizzle out after the red roses have gone out of season, rather I hope he finds and gives the sort of love that packs an umbrella for a rainy day and waits at the window anxiously when the other person is running late.

Long after the love ballads and the duets have been sung and they have become silent melodies buried in the recesses of the mind forever, what will sustain him on a cold wintry day is someone with whom he can have a heart warming, honest talk. Sometimes you do not need to be poetic to do your soul searching. I hope he finds someone who can make him smile and someone with whom he can laugh himself silly, you can never go wrong if you can make each other smile.

I hope he realizes that acts and facades are hard to keep up and harder still to unmask, all he can do is hope that he will meet someone who will allow him to be himself and accept him for what he is and this will be much,much harder than he thinks possible. To find someone with whom you can discuss anything under the sun, is to find your piece of heaven and I wish he grows that lucky in love. I hope his love matures from counting the stars all night to staying up with the other person all night when sick and upset.

Lastly I wish I could tell him that luck and love do not always go together, that perhaps he will love with all his heart and it will never be reciprocated. Instead of being bitter and turning into a non believer, I wish I could tell him that it does not matter, he will still win in a game that declares no winners and makes everyone lose something in a way.

There is so much I could tell him but like with all miracles, I want him to experience this one in its entirety, I want him to walk this path and perhaps stumble a bit but move on nevertheless and learn and keep his heart opens as he travels.

“Are you there?” he asks me, suddenly realizing that I haven’t said anything for a long time. “I am very happy for you” I answer, and as he says goodbye, I softly respond “It will all work out in the end, it always does”.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aman
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 14:37:52

    Amazing!I dnt know what to say.I just cried so much thinking some old memories after reading this post of yours.you have written just so truth here.Really nice!I am going to add your blog in my list of fav blogs.
    If would like, have a look at my blog too.Not so good as yours, just a collection of random thoughts.But would love to hear from you over there in the form of comments.
    Keep up the spirit alive and all the best.
    Cheers
    Aman….

    Reply

  2. Scarlett
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 04:02:26

    Aman, Thanks so much for your lovely words. Much appreciated.
    I did visit your blog and it looks good, will be back later for more.
    Do keep visiting.

    Take care,
    Scarlett

    Reply

  3. Aman Sharma
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 17:46:27

    Hi Scarlett,
    As they say one must ask the importance of victory from that person who has lost everything , must ask the importance of flowers from that person who has slept all his life on bed of thorns , similarly your blog and its posts depicts the truth which most of us now a days dont want to hear and know about love.Its about kiss and make up more today than love and listen , its more about the valentine day’s cards and calls than being with each other at the toughest times!We are changing dimensions and definitions of love and relations for our own ease.I dnt know what else to say as there is so much to say.Just will say this that you realy wrote a true feeling and expression and its a worth of gold if person understands the meaning of lines wrote by you.
    For sure, my random thoughts are no where even near to the mark as compared to your blog Scarlett but still I would be realy honoured if someone like you visits and read it.Whenever you feel like coming, you are always more thanwelcome there.
    Take care and keep smiling.
    Aman….

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Linked to a Tag.. « The Heart Monologues
  5. bilbo
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 14:34:28

    hiya scary
    Just felt like reading this again .

    Reply

  6. spratibha
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 03:37:50

    and again ….

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 12:59:54

    Awww 🙂 Thanks.

    Reply

  8. Bilbo
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 17:30:15

    And just read it again.
    This one never gets old

    Reply

Leave a Reply

