The Letters that were never posted

Dear H
Its been 6 years, 3 months and 21 days since I last saw you . I don’t remember what you were wearing or what I was wearing or what the weather was like but I know that I was thankful for the darkness around us as you said goodbye, because you couldn’t see the solitary tear trickling down my face. I knew it was a final goodbye even as you said that we would perhaps meet up again someday.

It is not like I have been counting the days or anything. I have moved on and so have you. There are days when I don’t think even think of you. It is just that when I made an appointment with the hairdresser this morning for next Tuesday, that I remembered that it was your birthday on Tuesday. I knew then that no matter how hard I tried, I would never be able to forget this date. So I leaned over and told the hairdresser that it was your birthday and even as she stared at me, I told her that I hadn’t seen you for the past 6 years, 3 months and 21 days.

R

Dear M
Do you remember how you once told me that the greatest of love stories is a mere play of emotions? Do you remember that when I was clinging on to you as you packed your bags to leave, you told me that life runs in single lanes and that it is quite possible to live without the person you love the most? Do you remember that when you called up to say you were getting married, I told you that I had more loyalty to a hazy past than you would ever have and that I would love you forever? Or that no matter what you did, I would always love you this deeply?

Will you forgive me for taunting you for moving on? You see, it has taken a while and I hate to admit this but you were right. I have just finished burning all the letters you ever wrote to me and as I look at the black bits of soot on my hand, I know now that I am past this mere play of emotions and I wouldn’t even call our love the greatest of all love stories.

R

Dear V
Love does not come with guarantees of forever. It is at best vulnerable, clingy, needy and desperately in need of reassurances to fuel it and keep it going. You really have to get over what was a beautiful prelude to reality. Reality is the long term solution to dreams, you have to believe me on this. My bags are packed, the bridal dress waits in its gauzy paper. A solitary amethyst smiles to itself on my ring finger. It is a matter of hours and then I will disappear past the bend in the road. Please do not scan the roads for me. You see it doesn’t matter who passes by if you are a mere onlooker. It is not your journey anyway.

And yet as I write this, I hope you will pine away for me, I hope you will pen sonnets about the love we once had and I hope you disown reality and accept your dreams, broken as they are. I hope that you go one better and teach me that it is indeed possible to love someone…forever. I like the sound of the word, perhaps you could aim to make it a reality.

R

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Apy
    Feb 28, 2007 @ 09:57:08

    another wow… ur pretty good with emotions and words….

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Linked to a Tag.. « The Heart Monologues
  3. Ray
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 20:12:53

    Wow, dis is really gud, makes me feel horrible afta readin it!
    …x

    Reply

  4. asuph
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 04:31:51

    How come I missed THIS? Succinct, surreal (in its language) and yet so real in it’s play of emotions. it so easy to find bits and pieces of oneself in those strokes. Lovely…

    -asuph

    Reply

  5. Scarlett
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 04:53:43

    Thanks Ray.

    Asuph, glad to see you liking it. This was one of those, write-at-a-stretch pieces. I tried to pen a sequel – not entirely happy with it, yet. Someday soon….

    Scarlett

    Reply

  6. Rebecca
    May 17, 2010 @ 22:21:26

    Hi S,

    I am a Acting teacber at a college in UK. I am writing a show about love and whilst researching came across your wonderful work. Would it be possible for me to have your permission to use them in my script (which will be performed by my students)? I think they are amazing. I respect your decision either way. With love, R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

