Where rainbows live…

I point out the plump, fleecy, grey clouds to her as I drive her home from school. An insolent ray of the sun filters through the grey afternoon and vaults off the sky.

“Will we get a rainbow now?”, she asks. She is well versed in the magic that happens when the raindrops give the sunshine a chance.
“You never know”, I tell her.
“I can almost see a rainbow”, she says as she points to a patch of tedious grey on the eastern horizon.
All I see is the gathering rain. Because the sun has now gone his own way. So, I tell her that I can see nothing but the clouds.
“But that is where the rainbow lives before it is born”, she tells me. “You just need to look harder at the grey clouds. Then, you can see the ‘almost’ colours behind the darkness”.

I swear I saw a smudge of colours when I looked again.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Altoid
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 13:04:45

    Ahhh! So THAT’s where they live! I hate grey, so I’ve never paid attention. Now I know better! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Gauri
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 03:57:11

    🙂 I loved her thought process. “That’s where they live before they’re born”.

    I didn’t know that either – I do now 🙂

    We adults do have some serious learning to do from our kids, don’t we ?

    Reply

  3. scarlettletters
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 11:46:21

    Altoid – I never paid any attention either. But, you can see the colours forming if you stare enough at the clouds 🙂

    Gauri – how fabulous to see you here again 🙂 Talk about learning a whole new perspective. As she told me today “We should be who we really are. Not who we wish to be” (I was pretending to be her pup and chasing her around the room). We live, we learn, hey! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Planethalder
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 19:23:25

    Children will always see rainbows when adults see clouds. Long may we always remain children 🙂

    Reply

  5. Priyamvada
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 02:44:38

    Ah, so THAT’s where rainbows live before they are born!

    What a metaphor for life….and from the mouths of babes! You are blessed to have such an enchanting daughter, who is as colorful as a rainbow. Hugs to her.

    Priya.

    Reply

  6. Aria
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 05:33:39

    sweet : ) I could almost picture greys hiding a splash of colors in the background… one only needs to look beyond whats ‘on the surface’ ..

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 06:47:29

    Planethalder, welcome to my blog. Children do, dont they?

    Priya, I didnt know that either – and to think that I only saw the clouds, all these days. I will let Ms A know that Aunty Priya sent her some hugs. 🙂

    Aria, I am now convinced that the surface only exists to hide the truth 🙂

    Reply

  8. Rajavel
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 03:11:59

    THis is brilliant !

    Reply

  9. scarlettletters
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 11:44:45

    Thanks Chets 🙂

    Reply

  10. betty
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 16:10:05

    What a lovely story! I needed that….

    Hugs,
    Betty

    Reply

  11. ardrav
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 05:46:04

    Of course! Thats where the rainbow lives before its born…thats why the clouds are there- for the rainbow to live until they shine through… The rainbow lurks within … Wow!

    Reply

  12. scarlettletters
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 05:52:10

    Hi Betty, welcome to my blog 🙂

    I am glad you liked the little story 🙂 Please do drop by again.

    Hugs,
    Scarlett

    Reply

  13. bilbo
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 07:40:31

    🙂

    Reply

  14. enig
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 01:09:06

    I remember reading this post before…and being speechless by it….wanted to let you know ‘was here’

    love,
    enig

    Reply

Leave a Reply

