Someday…

There will be a day in the future when I will race up the hallway to answer the door as soon as I hear you ring the doorbell. You will no longer be a child in this vision of a distant future – the printed pyjamas and the tousled tresses and the gap from the missing tooth will have been replaced by permanent portents of an adult world. I will wonder why I was so weary to tidy up after yet another sleep-over that involved stuffed toys, midnight treats and clothes on the floor all over the house even as I wonder if your memories of the days of yore are the same as mine.

But now, as you giggle and ring the doorbell yet again and your friend asks “Anyone home?”, I continue to drink my coffee and read the newspaper and answer with a “Nope, come back another day”.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aria
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 11:34:10

    Fascinating takes these are…
    I can’t think of anything to add .. just waiting for more.. its always nice to know that you are updating coz you keep vanishing .. : )

    Reply

  2. scarlettletters
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 06:10:23

    Thanks Aria.
    I do plan to update more and be less lazy – stranger things have happened 🙂

    Love,
    S

    Reply

  3. enig
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 01:06:11

    🙂 hahhahaa….now u’re just being a lazy mom…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

