Love needs a family

She hums to herself in the backseat of the car as she points out shapes in the fluffy clouds drifting by.
Then suddenly – “Cupid is around. I can see him”.
I try not to brake too hard. One gets used to such declarations with her around.
“Where can you see Cupid?”
“He is in the sky. Right there. You shouldn’t try and see him now though. You are supposed to be driving”.
“I won’t. Say my Hi to him, will you, please?”.
“Don’t you know? You have to wait till he talks to you, you cannot talk to Cupid”.
I wonder whether it is true – love picks us out for the part, we merely fall into place to say our lines when chosen.
The afternoon gets sunnier, her humming more contagious. The sky is cornflower blue. The roads are glimmering slivers. A few minutes pass in silence; the golden afternoon resolute in its staunch cheer.
“Did you know that Cupid has a brother? Cuppy. That is what they call him.”
“Really? What does Cuppy do?”
“He spreads peace. Like Cupid spreads love”
“Ahha. And why do we not hear about Cuppy as often as we hear about Cupid?”
“Cuppy spreads peace. Not everyone wants peace.” Perhaps we never know what to ask for when granted a choice. Perhaps one always gets to choose one over the other.
She doesn’t volunteer more. But I am spellbound.
“Where is Cuppy now?”, I ask
“He could be anywhere.”She waves her arms to encompass the world as she understands it. “He could be on the top of this car now – we can never tell!”
She giggles at the thought of Cuppy sharing a ride with us. And yet we spend an eternity, all of us, hoping Cuppy will ride with us. No matter what the destination.
“Cuppy is for those that go home alone at the end of the day. They have no one to talk to. And when they feel sad, Cuppy lets himself in through the window and makes them feel peaceful. Cupid is the noisy one. Because he spreads love and love needs other people. Peace can be alone”.
The enthrallment gives way to a deeper understanding. I thank her for sharing. Because life doesn’t always give us a prologue before sharing a lesson.
She leans back and continues to point out patterns in the sky. Music seeps into the silences in the car as we ponder our way home. Outside, the milieu throbs with life as we navigate the streets. I wonder what other thoughts are going through her head and whether she has already forgotten about Cuppy and Cupid.
As if reading my thoughts, she says in a soft voice, perhaps to herself, perhaps to all those that need to be reminded of simple truths, lest they forget the lesson “Cuppy and Cupid always find each other. Peace and Love. They are family”.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Altoid
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 12:18:01

    Perfect Combo. I’d like to move in with this cozy family of Cupid and Cuppy. Will Miss A join me?

    Reply

  2. Priyamvada
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 14:12:53

    Scarlett,
    What a tale! Some day your daughter will be a writer, painter or poet – or perhaps a seer.

    “Cupid is the noisy one. Because he spreads love and love needs other people. Peace can be alone”

    Miss A absolutely deserves a bear hug for this one. She has her mother’s gift of tugging at people’s hearts.

    Priya.

    Reply

  3. Tharini
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 21:03:53

    Oh my God. Omg. This is the music we hear from a beautiful mind. What a story and what a way to tell it. Life’s lessons don’t come with a prologue. How true!

    Reply

  4. scarlettletters
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 23:34:18

    Altoid, me too, me too!! Except Ms A and her Mommy talk a LOT – Cuppy may do a runner.

    Priya, your comment is so warm and lovely. I hope Ms A never forgets to hear the voices of her heart. 🙂

    Tharini, what an absolute delight to get your comments here. I am rapt 🙂 Thank you for your lovely words 🙂 I hope you will come back for more.

    Reply

  5. enig
    Oct 24, 2009 @ 02:40:54

    I see a lot of you in her and her in you, Scarlett 🙂

    “Cuppy is for those that go home alone at the end of the day. They have no one to talk to. And when they feel sad, Cuppy lets himself in through the window and makes them feel peaceful. Cupid is the noisy one. Because he spreads love and love needs other people. Peace can be alone”

    and you write one insightful piece after another…I can use the company of both cuppy and cupid today 😉

    enig

    Reply

  6. Gauri
    Oct 24, 2009 @ 12:12:00

    Wow ! So so profound and what makes it even more beautiful is the innocence which bathes the statements coming from children.

    “Cuppy and Cupid always find each other. Peace and Love. They are family.”

    Beautiful, Scarlett – simply beautiful !

    The depth to her thoughts and the way in which she chose to express them – quite simply put – simply took my breath away and now as I type this in – I do find that my eyes have misted over.

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Oct 25, 2009 @ 22:52:07

    Enig, you are spot on. There are times when she says something and I think to myself that I would have expressed myself exactly in those words 🙂 We can all use the company of Cuppy and Cupid, all days 🙂

    Gauri, awww. You are the sweetest, to say that 🙂 How very kind of you 🙂 Hope your Pecan and Macademia are doing great 🙂

    Love,
    S

    Reply

  8. bilbo
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 15:53:53

    🙂

    Reply

  9. Aria
    Nov 01, 2009 @ 05:14:13

    I’d been thinking the same that she is so ‘you’ .. what an imagination .. Cupid and Cuppy… and what a bright and beautiful quilt of life they can patch up together.. was overwhelmed by the end of the narrative. She sees our world more clearly than most of us.. and I believe one day she’d write about it much better than all of us : D

    Reply

  10. Scarlett
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 05:42:04

    Thanks Aria, I hope she is blessed with Cuppy and Cupid all her life 🙂

    Reply

  11. arvind
    Nov 07, 2009 @ 14:20:27

    Sorry, just saw your comment and published it. I don’t check my blog that often. It is a graveyard. My own personal graveyard though. 🙂

    Reply

  12. IW
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 07:24:29

    Baaki sab toh theek hein but what the heck is “cornflower” blue ! As if it’s not a curse enough to be born color blind, that, now I have to decipher these various shades aswell !

    That aside, are you sure Lil A was riding with you in the car ? Or maybe it was just the voices in your head.. One can never be sure with writers like you 😉

    p.s. : Just kidding (I’m serious about cornflower, though) .

    p.p.s. : The more I dwell on the word, It keeps sounding more & more like Corn Flour. The more I dwell on corn flour.. the more I dream of Alu Bhajjiyas ( corn flour + gram flour = crispy bhajjiyas )

    Reply

  13. scarlettletters
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 23:09:12

    Arvind, no worries 🙂

    IW,dear long-lost brother of mine!! Yes, it was Lil A in the car. Sometimes I ask her to “sulk” and go quiet on me so that I can back to hearing the voices in my head!!
    Corn Flour in gobi manchurian. And corn flour in tomato soup. So it should be Corn Flour Red not Cornflower blue. Sigh, the voices are back 😛
    Keep dropping by more often, IW 🙂

    S

    Reply

Leave a Reply

