Peas in a pod

I don’t know if you will remember this day in the future but it has been the kind of day where you wish you could get right back into bed and rewind the clock. The storm is raging outside – a sullen and angry gust of wind is forcing the windows open and threatening to put the fire out. The car is refusing to start, its pitiful sound exacerbated by the sound of plump rain on the dusty garage roof. You don’t want to practice the piano today because the storm doesn’t make you feel happy enough, you tell me. We watch the rain through the windows, you and I. The afternoon becomes dreary, even the sun gives up sooner than usual.

You mope and follow me around listlessly, getting in my way and generally being unhappy about being cooped indoors for such a long time.  Tempers are short, the day by contrast is endless.

By the time I start stringing some beans for dinner, neither of us are on talking terms. I watch you out of the corner of my eye – I want to make the day better, undo the despair and have you smiling again but a part of me is too tired to attempt any peacemaking. Which is why I nearly miss the plump green pea pods in my hand at first. And then I see them – two pea pods full of juicy green peas covertly hidden in a mound of beans, all by themselves  yet blending in so much with the sea of green that I would have missed them if I hadn’t looked at the precise moment.

You run across to see what the commotion is – and in an instant we are both eating the sweetest, juiciest peas that once pretended to be beans.

“Maybe there is a bit of sugar hidden everywhere, maybe we should just look more closely”, you say much later.

Maybe!  Maybe I haven’t been looking too closely. A little bit of sugar never did anyone any harm.

Life’s little treats often come disguised. You just need to know where to look.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gauri
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 03:36:01

    Lovely ! Only you, Scarlett, can infuse such life into peas in a pod. And yes – it is so true – Life’s little treats do come disguised.

    Reply

  2. Gauri
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 03:36:39

    Oh ! forgot to mention – I love the new template. Very earthy and cheerful ! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Priyamvada
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 20:49:41

    Give Miss A a tight hug and hold on to her. Kids grow up way too fast – came across my kid’s picture from 2004 and I wonder where the years went.

    Reply

  4. scarlettletters
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 00:35:30

    Gauri,
    The treats are there for the taking – I wonder why we need little setbacks to arrive at better pastures. Thanks for your comments 🙂 And glad you like the new look of the blog.
    Priya,
    She is growing up way too fast. ‘Slipping through my fingers all the time…’, indeed. Hugs to K.

    S

    Reply

  5. Gauri
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 01:58:40

    Why do we need little setbacks to arrive at greener pastures ? My take – they’re just little reminders – to remind us of the fact that we are, after all, human :). It’s a package deal.

    Reply

  6. Rajavel
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 03:22:06

    Lovely. Something tells me that i would end up atleast thinking,if not saying, repeatedly, that only you so colorfully describe a simple scenario like this – for what a piece of life miracle it really is.

    And you eat raw peas?

    Reply

  7. Ardra
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 13:31:32

    A sweet, juicy post just like the peas!

    Reply

  8. Aria
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 00:39:02

    as everyone else has already said – you can make the mundane ethereal with the way you write – (trying to read one post everyday- that should keep me going till you are back again!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

