The Happy List

First things first, I have been true to my promise and been posting a blog post a day for the last 15 days πŸ™‚ For someone who writes in fits and starts and when the whim announces itself, this is nothing short of a major miracle. All miracles are major, but you already knew that. It is lovely to see some blog traffic around here (such a quiet cul-de-sac is my part of the world and all that jazz) – but please, please delurk and comment. I promise to say Hi if you promise to type in a comment. And to those faithful friends that have been commenting and leaving Hellos, you are very good people to indulge me so. Thank ye kindly.

Today’s blog post is a tad different to my usual pieces.Β I have had the kind of tiring weekend where all I wanted to do was curl up and drink coffee (or a cosmopolitan) and eat cake. For the uninitiated, I am always ready to drink coffee (nearly black with no sugars, for those of you that like to know such details) and eat cake. And drink a cosmo. Sometimes all within the same hour. But I digress.

You know when you have those days when winter is the only surety in the surroundings? When the rain doesn’t let up and your heart feels dull and heavy and you are too lethargic to do anything new, anything better, anything different? When you are stuck in a rut and yet want to wait for the sunshine, because sunshine is always a promise that is delivered? What do you mean you never feel this way? I was sure I wasn’t the only one. Sniff !

I have this list of things that never fail to cheer me up. Mostly this list is printed on fancy paper and stored in the recesses of my handbag. Somedays when the going gets uphill, I read it and I cheer up – or I find something to do from the list that cheers me up. Here is my list below.

  1. Sunlight streaming through the windows
  2. Dark chocolate
  3. Collecting Pandora beads and charms
  4. Vienna Coffee
  5. Cosmopolitans
  6. Picking Miss A up after school
  7. Hugging Miss A so tight that she squeals
  8. The anticipation of a fun evening ahead
  9. Solving crosswords
  10. Having people tell me they like my work (yes, blogs and management analysis documents both)
  11. Going to the movies
  12. Creating playlists of my favourite music
  13. The perfect pair of shoes
  14. Sparkling Mineral water with a dash of lemon
  15. Friday night takeaway
  16. Clear stars on an inky night

Let us play a game, shall we? Β Tell me what cheers you up, what puts the smile on your dial, what makes you brush the cobwebs and open the windows and hum again! Leave me a note in the comments section. Tell me what makes you happy – it could be one thing or several. Or do this as a tag on your own blog- and tell me when you are done. We could all do with spreading more cheer around, yes?

And oh, if you are new here, please say Hello. Meeting new people is right up there on my list πŸ™‚ Β And I would love to know who you are.Β Go on, I am really nice that way. I will if you will….

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bilbo
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 20:38:43

    chocolates- the dark bitter kinds
    hi from a friend
    the smile that delurks when a baby just wakes up
    these days- getting questions right!
    a bread that turns out perfect ………

    Reply

  2. scarlettletters
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 09:11:22

    Thanks Billy πŸ™‚ Love the one about babies waking up. And thanks for commenting too.

    Also, the rest of you – my plea to get you commenting sank like a lead balloon didn’t it? πŸ˜› Sigh!

    Reply

  3. Rajavel
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 12:05:33

    Nice list Scarlett!

    I am yet to come out of the weekend hangover ! Promise to comment on your previous two blogs too !

    I want a to make a list too !

    I think you inspire me to want a lot of things lol !

    Good going on the 16 blogs ! Like Dory says – “keep swimming, keep swimming”

    Reply

  4. Ardra
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 14:15:27

    Dropping onto Heart Monologues and seeing a new post!

    you gave me Home work…waaaah…

    Reply

  5. Trackback: The Happy List « Thought Raker
  6. thoughtraker
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 14:34:17

    I’ve done my bit to spread the Scary Happiness! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 14:56:44

    Rajavel, I will await your post hangover emergence πŸ™‚ And your lists πŸ˜›
    Ardra, you are SO sweet πŸ™‚ And you better get on with the homework….I want to see your list.
    Ano, my dear friend. Thank you so much..I am off to your blog to read the list now.

    Reply

  8. Captain Nemo
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 17:35:43

    Nice list… I don’t have a list, somehow I’ve never been a lists or even a plan person. The one character who you might instantly relate to with my personality would be Zaphod Beeblebrox.

    Reply

  9. Gauri
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 20:57:00

    Scarlett, Scarlett πŸ™‚

    I’ve been a tad busy, that’s all. The moment I got some free time, I hopped on to my “favouritest” (that’s Pecanese) blog :).

    And yes, me thinks me will take that up as a tag ….. dunno when I’ll get around to it, but I shall, in due course :).

    Reply

  10. Priyamvada
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 06:47:11

    Scarlett,
    What a cheerful blog! Some list off the top of my head:

    1. Dark chocolate
    2. Lying in the lawn on a clear night watching stars
    3. Hugging K “too tight” – in general hugging kids too tight
    4. Holding a baby
    5. Reading a book
    6. Reading a book to K and watching her fall asleep
    7. Ilayaraja songs from the eighties and early nineties
    8. Walking along a nature trail
    9. Cooking something special, not as a chore
    10. Making a fruit salad
    11. Making jam

    Reply

  11. scarlettletters
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:37:41

    Gauri, please do take up the tag πŸ™‚ Am very interested in your list. “Favouritest” is a good word. I mean it. True Life (that’s Miss A speak for you :P)!

    Priya, LOVED your list. We have a fair few similarities, hey? Making Jam sounds awesome. Self may now make jam. Thanks for sharing – like I said, all of us could do by comparing more cheer lists.

    Reply

  12. Rajavel
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:20:58

    Reply

  13. scarlettletters
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:55:37

    Loved your list, Rajavel…especially the bit about making travel plans. Thanks for doing the tag.

    Reply

  14. enig
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 13:34:00

    sunshine…clear blue skies….mountains….whiff of fresh air…sharing a good laugh with A …..listening to some old dance songs…dancing to them..being free..

    πŸ™‚
    enig

    Reply

  15. scarlettletters
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 15:36:30

    Cool list Enig. Thanks for commenting.

    Reply

  16. IW
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 17:35:47

    My brief ‘Happy List’ :

    – Passing through Changi Int’l Airport (though, don’t quite fancy waiting there for friends who don’t turn up or turn at wrong side of immigration barrier πŸ˜€ )

    – Flying (with metallic wings, ofcourse). Love everything related to flying. Gazing at never-ending rows of clouds.. Sipping free (?) booze, Eating tiny portions of food they serve on flights, fiddling with the on-board entertainment system, browsing through Duty Free stuff catalogues, reading emergency landing instruction leaflet πŸ˜‰ Just about EVERYTHING !

    – Lap Nbr 15 through 20 whilst swimming. That’s when everything comes together (for me) and it feels ‘O so natural’ to glide in water

    – Bunking office for no rhyme or reason, especially when the workload is immense.

    Reply

  17. Poornima
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 22:32:01

    Hi Scarlett,

    I am new to your blog and needless to say it is delightful. This particular post of yours did cheer me up and I picked up the tag – you can see it at – http://justpoornima.blogspot.com/2010/09/happy-tag.html

    Reply

  18. scarlettletters
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 09:12:51

    Poornima,
    Welcome to my blog – glad you liked it. Do come back for more.

    I will hop over to your blog in a minute and read your tag πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    S

    Reply

  19. Aria
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 03:48:23

    what makes me happy – Sachin scoring a century..!
    there’s a lot more .. could think of only this due to the series going on .. heh

    but that was a nice list .. both in your posts and also in comments..
    leaving with a smile tonight ..to come back again tomorrow : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

