A Corner of the Sky

Dear Miss A,

I am so, so proud of you today. You were wonderful throughout your special day at school. Don’t you think it is lovely that the school sets aside a day to celebrate every little girl in the school and make her a VIP for a week? I loved it when you said you always got your keyboard tunes right the first time.  You told us that you want a Saddle Club party for your next birthday and that you hope to get a puppy as a pet someday. It was adorable when you decided to lean over and pat Hannah for whatever reason. I simply must tell you what part I liked the best though.

I will forever have an image of a golden,autumn afternoon with the sun streaming in through the large windows of your classroom. In my minds eyes, whenever I choose to conjure this afternoon, I will see you sitting next to the Headmistress, all giggly and full of smiles. I will see the eager little faces of your classmates as you shared your favourite things with them.

It was good fun till that part, you know. There were lots of giggles and lots of squeals of delight at your answers. But, when the Headmistress asked the little girls in your class to talk about you, I admit I was not prepared for what came next. One by one, with shy voices, with confident tones and with eager faces the girls talked about what made you “you” and what they liked the best about you.

For the next 10 minutes, every girl in the class got a chance to tell us something about you – how you waited for someone till they had finished their paintings, how you were the class giggle-pot, how you were great fun whilst playing Duck Duck Goose, how you always thought of others first, how you walked someone to the library when they needed a book and how cute your dimples were. I saw you then, like these friends of yours saw you. I saw you run across the playground and giggle at the funny things that little girls with pigtails, dimples and trailing shoelaces always seem to find and I saw just much how love had been going around the class.

And then I saw little Clara struggling to sit up. Her words were a stutter at first but in her very brave voice she told us how special you were and how much she liked you because you always played with her. I nearly cried then to see this little child struggling to move even as she articulated her thoughts for all of us.

I would like to believe that a perfect moment had just been born even as she finished her little talk. The sun was a cheery yellow and the old gum trees sighed in the late afternoon sun. Excited shrieks from the playground mingled with the crisp mountain air. The shiny little faces around me smiled and nodded as Clara spoke.  For that split moment in time, everything was perfect and in its place, and the world hummed to itself like a little girl on a wooden swing waiting to touch a corner of the sky with her toe. As the girls came around to hug you and as the camera whirred with magnetic memories, I wanted to hold you close and tell you that no matter what, this afternoon would always bring spring back in your life.

Some day, Miss A, you will inevitably know that life isn’t as loving or as glorious all the time. You will meet people who won’t be so giving. You will meet people who will judge you and people who will not have so much of affection to hand out. There will be times when you will doubt yourself and wonder if you are doing the right thing.

When that happens, I want you to think of this magical afternoon because spring always has answers to autumn’s questions. I hope you will remember that at the end of the day it is about playing duck duck goose honestly, about walking a part of the way with someone and about touching a life and a heart with the kindness that you are so full of. If you have done it once, Miss A, you will be able to do it every time life gets in the way of living.

Before your very eyes you will see an afternoon of golden hues, you will hear a distant school bell and perhaps the cry of a far-away magpie on a gnarled gum tree. You will see the faces that love you for what you are, you will hear little Clara’s voice telling you how special you are and you will know that there is a corner in every heart where the good and the simple is cherished and welcomed. Just like today, everything will be alright with the world. And if you listen carefully, you will hear the hum of a little girl on a wooden swing even as she touches a corner of the sky with her toe.

Love,

Mum

—-

PS: A recycled piece today. Why, you ask!  Or atleast, I presume you will ask. I am working on another piece for a deadline and it has taken a lot of my time. Not to mention that I do not feel very creative after all that editing. And the deadlines, I have a deadline – did I mention that?

So, apologies to those that read this piece at SL – but then again you could be really, really nice and re-read it for me, yes?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Captain Nemo
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 18:52:45

    Always a pleasure to read and re-read well written pieces like this. I wonder why this is tagged under fiction though… Felt quite real.

    Reply

  2. bilbo
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 19:31:13

    “If you have done it once, Miss A, you will be able to do it every time life gets in the way of living.”
    Ain’t that the truth .
    loved reading this one.

    Reply

  3. Rajavel
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 19:45:16

    🙂 Your inspiration is limitless. Recycle or not .. reading this is worth it !

    Reply

  4. Captain Nemo
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 20:14:13

    An unsolicited book and movie recco (if you have not read or watched yet): The Legend of Bagger Vance.

    Reply

  5. scarlettletters
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 10:44:05

    Captain, I must have ticked the ‘Fiction’ button by mistake. Also, thank you so much for the nice rap on FB 🙂 Haven’t read the book, will put it on my list – I am always looking for book reccos.
    Thanks Billy and Rajavel 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ardra
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 14:41:07

    I teared up then, I teared up now…never mind recycled, such posts make me feel so much happier…

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 15:54:24

    Thanks Ardra 🙂

    Reply

  8. enig
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 13:10:58

    don’t remember reading it before…but loved it and there’s someting about you writing all these for Miss A, Scarlett which makes me want to give her a hug and tell her that she is a lucky girl..and parts of her childhood are right here, innocent and beautiful waiting for her to come and pick them up, when she’s all grown up and caught up in her life…

    how do you bring so much warmth to what you write, Scarlett? it has to be all inside you..all this and much more,

    don’t u ever stop writing…
    enig

    Reply

  9. scarlettletters
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 15:38:26

    Enig, thank you so much, you are very kind. The warmth probably comes from Miss A’s outlook to life – it has rubbed off on me. I have discovered vulnerability and strength like never before.

    🙂

    S

    Reply

  10. Aria
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 22:06:40

    I hadn’t read it before.. so its the first time for me..
    I really like this school for having this ‘special week’ for every child..
    warmed my heart, as usual.. for a moment I felt I was the little A and someone very close to me was telling me all this.. sorry .. but that’s precisely what my feelings were..
    “spring always has answers to autumn’s questions.”
    I’ll always remember this, thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

