The 3 Hs

She runs ahead even as I call out, asking her to stop. The rain is coming down with a sullen intensity now and in the distance she sees some shelter.

“Hurry up, Mum”, the sing-song voice melds with the patter of dusty rain.

“Hang on A. Mum cannot walk that fast .”

“Is it your knee again?”

“Yeah”, I half run, half walk to her and hold her little hand tightly in mine.

“Did you know that you have had a bad knee for aaaaaaaages?”

“Um, yeah. Hard to forget stuff of that kind when I cannot take the stairs or run much, eh?”

“And it is still bad?”

“Yeah, it is still bad.”

“So when do you plan on getting it fixed?”

“I am not sure Missy. There are days when it hurts less than other days. And perhaps that is as good as it will ever get.”

The rain has reached a steady bellow. The parking lots stand deserted. And yet here we are, long lists in hand, ready to do our Christmas shopping. A few minutes pass in comfortable silence.

Then this. “Mum, everything that is broken heals some day.”

“Really? Everything?”

“Some things hurt for like 8 years. Or even 20. But they heal, you know. That is the way the world works”.  This being said as she waves a tiny hand around her and the rain drops slide off her finger-tips. Now here. Now gone.

The little voice continues. “Somethings hurt. Like a lot. But then they start getting better. ”

“I like the sound of that”

“So Mum, when the knee does not hurt on good days,it means you have already healed”.

“But A, I will still feel the pain other times, yeah?”

“Of course you will Mum. But you have to remember the 3 Hs”

Then without further ado, a warm hug on a cold day comes my way as she explains.

“The 3 Hs. Hurt, Healing and Healed. It is like a 1,2,3. That is how everrrrrything works.”

I am silent. And I am not even concentrating on my knee or the rain or the storm anymore.

“And Mum?”

“Yeah sweetums?”

“This applies to everything okay, I mean this. The 3 Hs. You better remember that, okay? Like your times tables or something!”

We reach the inside of the shopping centre and she lets go of my hand and promptly plasters her face against a window with a Christmas display, softly humming a carol to herself. I try to learn my new lesson.

Hurt. Healing. Healed. Life in an iteration. One known formula. Many variations. It can end well.  There is such a pattern here.

I better remember this tag line. Like my times tables or something.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. poornima
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 13:29:49

    Wow! That is so simple yet so profound. Love it.

    Reply

  2. Rajavel
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 17:12:41

    I have to be brutally frank ! I dont believe this ! I dont ! I cant ! I am stuck up or some such thing ! but this is unbelievable !

    Hurt, Healing, Healed ! Hmmmmm

    Reply

  3. scarlettletters
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 09:44:05

    Thanks Poornima 🙂

    Rajavel – what is it that you do not believe? That she said this or that the hurt gives way to healing? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Indian Homemaker
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 23:13:04

    Hurt, Healing, Healed… maybe then Hurt again, and Healing again and then Healed again. But always healing again.

    Reply

  5. scarlettletters
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 09:46:11

    Dear IHM,
    Welcome, I am very glad to see you here. I hope you will drop by more often.
    Many Hugs.

    Vidya,
    That was so sweet. 🙂

    S

    Reply

  6. bilbo
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 18:50:38

    🙂
    Lil A seems to have an old soul. This is , to quote Rajavel, ” unbelievable”
    But, I’d like to believe in it.

    Reply

  7. Priyamvada
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 08:02:18

    Ok, that doesn’t just deserve a hug – it deserves a tight squeeze, Ms.A!! You are a wise old soul in a little body, that’s what you are.

    Reply

  8. scarlettletters
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 19:49:41

    Awww, that is so sweet of you Priya, I will pass on the hug 🙂 And yes, she is an old soul.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

