2010 – Lessons learnt.

There is something about the end of the year that makes stock-taking a necessity. It is 43C here today, the day is balmy and impossibly hot. As with all impossibly hot days, the day is also quiet.  In this quietitude, the year that was stands silent as a hazy blur but yet some moments are so clear. It was a good year, this 2010 business. I am not going to say it was ‘great’ – but then again I use the word ‘great’ very, very, very sparingly.

So back to 2010. There were lessons learnt. Rewards gained. More lessons learnt. Some rewards went missing. Did you think I was going to repeat the pattern with the whole “lessons learnt, rewards gained” chain by the way? I am nothing if not predictably unpredictable.

Without further ado, here are reminders that the year handed to me. In no particular order.

1) You can go on long after you think you are ready to give up.  The decision to give up always comes from within. As does the decision to keep on walking.

If you do not trust me, you should see the number of rejection slips I gathered this year. I am still writing. Still editing. Like I said, the decision to write is mine alone. No rejection slip is going to decide this for me. Wish me luck. The more I write, the more I set myself up for possible failure. You think I would have given up by now, no? Not on the cards at the moment.

2) You are braver than you think. But at some stage, you need to stop thinking about bravery and start acting. Life has nimble toes, if you must know.

So sure, your car is a write off and you are inside a crumbling mass of metal that was actually your perfect car some thirty seconds ago.  You could have died. But you didn’t. You are alive and already victorious. Let us face it – for the rest of your life you will ask yourself what you could have done differently. You will kick yourself when you realise that you knew the answer all along. But after that, the real bravado comes in letting go. Of the mistakes and the horror. Leave the scene of the crash. Your lesson has been learnt. The debris has nothing more to teach you.

3) The world realigns itself every now and then. Go with the flow.

Life is always a multiple choice question. You cannot choose the answers, so just pick the best one.  People leave. People enter your life. You make mistakes. You let people down. There is only so much you can do. You cannot get everything right. Decide what you will beat yourself up for. Leave the rest. Because given half a chance, a willing world will do that for you.

4) Travel light. By which I mean, ditch the baggage. And stock up on the essentials. Life has these passages where you will be stranded. Believe you me. Be prepared to travel. And be prepared to wait. Like I said, stock up on the essentials.

5) Watch some good movies. Read the books everyone is talking about. Or read the books that you have always wanted to read. Always order dessert. Laugh more. Cry if you wish –  why spurn the heart of its colours! That is such a futile exercise.  Hug people more. Be the first to say “I Love You”.  Rekindle your belief in something, anything. You would be surprised by how wonderfully your heart thrives on passion.

6) There are no guarantees that Life runs a smooth course. So after you have done all, go back to the basics. Try again. Because the tides turn. The inky darkness gets tired of hanging around and takes off. Be around when the sun rises. You owe it to yourself.

Happy New 2011 to You and Yours. I hope the lessons you imbibed this year will see you through. I hope happiness awaits you around the corner, if it is not walking with you already. I will see you on the other side.

Thank you for reading me this year. I am deeply thankful for your friendship and your words.

Ciao 2010.

Scarlett

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rajavel
    Dec 31, 2010 @ 21:01:39

    Happy New year to you too Scary !

    Reply

  2. Altoid
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 13:32:41

    Happy New Year Scarlett! That ‘travel light’ message is actually quite deep, it can also mean let go of the past and the baggage it brings. Love ya 🙂

    -altoid

    Reply

  3. IW
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 12:49:59

    >> Always order dessert.

    Yes, and always order Pakora’s n Sev Puris for starters 🙂

    Happy Naya Saal to you & your near dear ones Scarlett 🙂 Wishing you more acceptance slips & more rewards in the year(s) ahead.

    Reply

  4. bilbo
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 21:10:15

    happy new year Scary. Who in their right minds have been sending you rejection slips? I do hope folksies come to their senses soon .
    Lots of hugs to you and lil A .

    Reply

  5. scarlettletters
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 14:17:10

    Thanks Rajavel. HNY.
    Alty, ta. Here’s to more meaningful meanderings in 2011.
    IW, spot on! Always order pakoras! I shall add this to my zen list. HNY to you and your very beautiful missus 🙂
    Billy, You are very kind. I hope the tide changes- thanks to this mentoring I have signed up for, I have realised just how much of science exists behind the art of good writing. I am on a steep learning curve, but the ride has been good. Many hugs to you too.

    Reply

  6. enig
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 15:14:18

    🙂 I am with bilbo on this one. You write amazingly well Scarlett and here’s wishing you good luck with your pursuits in 2011. Btw, you are actually inspiring me…and nothing has had that effect on me for a long time…loved these lines..

    “Rekindle your belief in something, anything. You would be surprised by how wonderfully your heart thrives on passion.”

    just what I need to believe in,
    love…
    Happy New Year,
    enig

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 19:51:30

    Thanks so much Enig. You are most kind. I am delighted to hear about the inspiration being passed on. Here’s wishing you and yours a fabulous 2011. May your heart thrive with much joy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

