The 100th post…

Yesterday was when I posted my 100th post, would you believe it? So, I know I am slow (with blogging I mean, sheesh!) and I took my own sweet time to reach the century mark but tis a milestone anyway.

When I reach milestones, I think (I am aware that for most folks, it is the other way around, the thinking happens first). Why do I blog, I asked myself? This could also have something to do with the fact that no one else has ever asked me this question.  Now, now, it is okay, come back, all is forgiven.

I blog because a lot of my other writing is fiction. Which means, I have to take great care to follow the science behind the art. No endless meandering. No random musings. No writing paragraphs and paragraphs about the bends in the road. In other words, I need strict discpline and I have my work cut out for me. Bloggy, on the other hand, is my space to write about the paint drying, should I wish to do so. A delicious little luxury, an exercise in self gratification, a canvas for thoughts that can be as raw as they like because we are amongst friends here.

I blog because I like writing about Miss A. Simple as that.  Unlike people who take naturally to parenting and always end up  knowing what to do, I am still finding my way around this gig. And it feels better to put my apprehensions out there and have someone comment on their take of the situation. Advice – be it a pat on the back or a gentle email from a kindred soul helps me feel better about my parenting. It does take a village to raise a child. Let no one tell you otherwise.

I blog because I love writing. I am not good at a lot of things. You couldn’t get me on the sports field if you tried. I cannot run marathons, I cannot paint, I cannot sew, I cannot sing, I cannot play any musical instrument.  But I would like to believe (possible self delusion alert) that I write well. Yes, sometimes I do read the stuff I wrote a while ago and cringe. That however doesnt stop me from writing – and that to me, is a sign of passion for this fine art. I am happiest when cooking or writing or reading – and I cannot imagine my life without these things.  But writing gives me a high like no other and therefore it is my lifeline to sanity. Bloggy is my window to that lifeline. My laptop has a Window to that window. So and so forth. Such puns, one makes, when one doesn’t even try.

I blog because blogging gives me the courage to be honest about my thoughts. My feelings. My shortcomings. The things I like. The opinions I have. It is like sitting down with a group of friends over a cup of tea and talking about things that matter. We are never too old for that kind of comfort. Unfortunately, you do not realise that till you are old enough to see what you left behind.

I blog because blogging has introduced me to some of the awesomest friends ever. People that are kind, funny, smart, good writers and amazing listeners, people that share my blog links and praise my words, even though they are such good wordsmiths themselves. People that remember my birthdays and send me lovely emails and encourage my work. People that kindly read my drafts and offer advice with such startling genorosity. People that are now more than just DSS/SL/Facebook identities. They are real friends in a flimsy world.  A priceless gift for having a blog.

To give up blogging would be to cancel my membership to such an enriching experience. So, self shall blog. And to every one of you that stops by and comments and sends such love and friendship my way – thank you. Sincerely. From the bottom of my heart.

A 100. Who would have thunk it? Have a drink on me. And pass me some tissues, please.

Scarlett

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Captain Nemo
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 16:40:33

    Congratulations!!! To both you and Ms. A who features in most of them – for being your muse and protagonist. Also to those little angels who are her friends for their cameos.
    Looking forward to a few more tons…

    Reply

  2. Altoid
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 20:08:33

    Congratulations S 🙂 Very very happy that you blog and even happier to know you!

    Reply

  3. Rajavel
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 21:54:12

    Congratulations Scarry ! May you keep blogging !

    Reply

  4. enig
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 10:26:44

    Happy 100th 🙂 A toast to many such hundreds to come!!

    love,
    enig

    Reply

  5. Gauri
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 18:39:46

    Congratulations on the 100th post, Scarlett and here’s to many many more. I’ve said this before and shall say it again – it is indeed a pleasure to read what you pen and I, for one, look forward to many more posts on your blog.

    Hugs

    G 🙂

    Reply

  6. Indian Bazaars
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 01:46:58

    It’s such a pleasure to read your writing!!

    Reply

  7. scarlettletters
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 11:28:28

    Thank you all, you wonderful people – you make the blogging worthwhile.

    Indian Bazaars – thanks. And welcome to my blog home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

