For the best friend

For that time when you lived down the road from me. A best friend for all seasons. Dress-ups and sulking sessions, secrets shared on the ledge of your terrace, encounters with the boys dissected and magnified in great detail as we lay giggling in my room. Walks around the park and screams of thrill as we learnt to ride our bikes and then later those rickety scooters. Sharing make-up, lunch box treats and birthday months. Endless phone calls throughout the day, conversations that stretched over a dozen years and more. School yard loyalties and summer holiday ice-cream binges. The best friend a girl could ask for.

Do you remember the number of times we watched the same movie again and again once we liked something? Do you remember how we stayed on the terrace in the heat, with the mosquitoes biting and the sounds of the evening dying down, talking about this song, singing it endlessly? We did not understand the language but it did not matter.  Love and life and growing up seemed so easy and so effortless that evening, do you remember?

The future that day was obscenely rosy, our hopes were naive and nascent, we knew what we wanted our life to be like. 20 years down the line, some things worked out, others did not. I miss you R. I miss you tonnes.

I do not think we can ever take stabs at deciphering the script of the future. But with a friend like you, I can turn back every single time and say that my childhood was beyond wonderful and perfect. I would not have had the laughs and the fun and the joy in my heart if I did not have you to share notes and stolen candy, teach me how to to apply lipstick, cheer me on, hold my hand, hug me when I cried and followed me with sane advice when I walked away from you sulking.  Thank you for being there. For R. For my first and forever best friend, for being the sister I never had. For making my childhood worthwhile.

Like the song, with all true friendship, you do not always understand the language but it makes your world a better place. There are no better words to hum.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Altoid
    May 08, 2012 @ 22:22:56

    This could be me writing about my bff, also an R, who also happened to be my sister, soulmate, parent and child all rolled into one. All those h2hs sitting on the stone bench underneath the mango tree in the yard of our childhood home, all those gupshups on the terrace sipping amma’s filter kaapi, woh kaagaz ki kashti, woh baarish ka paani….

    Reply

  2. Sujatha
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 20:30:04

    I never had best friends or even one best friend growing up. We moved every two years so I had friends but never what you describe so beautifully.

    Reply

  3. muktasworld
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 17:23:00

    Why no blog posts recently? Hope all is well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

